Illinois State Board of Education Recognizes Award Winning Career and Technical Students

Eighty-eight high school and occupational school students win medals at National Leadership Conference

SPRINGFIELD, IL –The Illinois State Board of Education recognized nearly 90 students from across Illinois for their performance in National Students Taking Action with Recognition (STAR) Competitive Events at the 2015 Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) National Conference in Washington, D.C.  This year’s conference brought together more than 4,100 students who were the top competitors in STAR events in their districts and states.

FCCLA is a career and technical student organization with a membership of nearly 200,000 students in more than 5,500 chapters. The National Conference offers students from FCCLA chapters across the country the opportunity to learn from speakers, improve their leadership skills, and explore possible career paths. Illinois students won awards in 27 of the 32 STAR events.

“These students are leaders in their fields of study and deserve this national recognition,” said State Superintendent of Education Tony Smith. “Career and Technical skills are an important part of our education system, preparing students for success after they graduate from high school. It will play an important role in the future as our education system evolves to meet the needs of all students and the needs of our state economy.”

Events are designed to support and enhance college and career-readiness, leadership, management, and problem-solving skills. The competitive events reflect a variety of themes in Family and Consumer Science education, including Advocacy, Culinary Arts, Early Childhood Education, Entrepreneurship, Fashion Design, Life Event Planning, and Nutrition and Wellness.

The theme of this year’s conference was “Together We Are Healthy.” The 2016 National Leadership Conference will focus on empowerment.

Medals were presented on July 9 at a recognition ceremony. The following is a list of the winners.

Adlai E. Stevenson High School: Robin Cheifetz, Madison Randol, Jordan Zatz

Camp Point Central High School: Abigail Heinecke, Anne Vestal

Dwight Township High School: Lucy Rieke, Mark Taylor, Hannah Van der Karr

Glenbrook North High School: Zainab Ahmed, Riana Bakis, Anujin Batbold, Michael Bubaris, Megan Cho, Samantha Heyman, Janet Lee, Coco Yang, Benjamin Zhao

Greenfield High School: Aubrey Jenkins

John Hersey High School: Christine Chang, Amy Chou

Knoxville High School: Dakota Storde

Liberty High School: Haley Daggett, Briana Essington, Olivia Hanzel, Justine Obert, Zoey Obert, Brooke Wiewel

Lockport Township High School: Martha Guerrero

Maine South High School: Nikki Bauer, Mary Grace Inserra

Maine West High School: Quin Santucci

Mount Pulaski High School: TJ Benhart, Brady Coppinger, Garrett Johnston, Sam Koehl, Clayton Lindley, Eli Olson, Hannah Riedle, Brady Walsh

Niles North High School: Matheu Hoegen

Oakland CUSD #5 High School: Zac Cash, Megan Dowling, Carey Hendrix, Alexis Kiser, Ashley Patton, Taylor Veach

Prairie Central High School: Tiffany Antonetti, Grant Bachtold, Dakota Bazzell, Kyah Bazzell, Ariel Bohm, Valorie Campbell, Kamryn Fehr, Tate Hetherington, Gretchen Maier, Jacie Martin, Iris Mendez, Brittany Rayburn, Savannah Shores, Leah Zorn

Prospect High School: Kristen Fedor, Paige Gillogly, Ellie Gut, Dayna Laffey, Julia Mozdzen, Kathryn Penner, Jessica Sell

ROWVA High School: Nicole Brown, Allison Chasteen, Katie England, Grace Johnson, Dylan Kuberski

St. Charles East High School: Anastasia Anastopolous, Celina Diciaula, Nicole Klose

St. Charles North High School: Taylor Hoekstra, Sophia Sandrzyk

Thornridge High School: Ariana Dority

West Aurora High School: Jacquelyn Diaz, Angyela Hernandez, Yarelli Hernandez, Hayley Karn, Miracle Maddox, Cristina  Sosa

Wilco Area Career Center: Hannah Eichelberger, Alyssa Warren

Wolcott School: Mollie Aeder, Imani Turner