Illinois Enterprise Zone Board Voted to Approve 49 Applications to Establish or Renew Enterprise Zones; Will Not be Certified at This Time

Director Jim  Schultz Issues Statement on Enterprise Zones

SPRINGFIELD, IL – “In compliance with the statutory timeframe, the Illinois Enterprise Zone Board voted to approve 49 applications to establish or renew enterprise zones. In light of Illinois’ current fiscal uncertainty and ongoing budget impasse, the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity will not certify the enterprise zones at this time. Local and state tax incentives are important business development tools, but cannot be truly effective while the state continues to bleed jobs due to high costs of doing business. To issue tax incentives without addressing these cost drivers would be a disservice to Illinois businesses and communities. The Department of Commerce will continue to evaluate the appropriate time to certify the approved enterprise zones.”

Enterprise Zones Approved By Enterprise Zone Board:

  1. Alexander/Pulaski
  2. Bedford Park
  3. Belleville
  4. Bensenville
  5. Boone County
  6. Cal Sag
  7. Canton Fulton County
  8. Champaign City/County
  9. Chicago I
  10. Chicago II
  11. Chicago III
  12. Chicago IV
  13. Chicago V
  14. Cicero
  15. Clinton County
  16. Danville
  17. Decatur/Macon County
  18. DeKalb County
  19. Des Plaines River Valley
  20. Diamond
  21. Edgar County/Paris
  22. Fairmont City/Caseyville
  23. Fairview Heights
  24. Franklin Park
  25. Galesburg
  26. Harvard/Woodstock
  27. Hodgkins/McCook
  28. Kankakee County
  29. Kankakee River Valley
  30. Loves Park/Machesney Park
  31. Macomb/Bushnell
  32. Madison County Discovery
  33. Monmouth Warren County
  34. Mt. Carmel/Wabash County
  35. Mt. Vernon/Waltonville
  36. Nashville/Washington County
  37. Northern Tazewell County
  38. Ottawa Area
  39. Peoria Urban
  40. Quincy/Adams
  41. Riverbend
  42. Rockford EZ 1
  43. Rockford I-90
  44. Southern Tazewell
  45. SW Madison County
  46. Springfield/Sangamon County
  47. Streator Area
  48. Urbana/Champaign County
  49. Will-Cook County