23rd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards Announces Nominations

Beverly Hills, CA (BlackNews.com) — The NAACP Beverly Hills/Hollywood Branch’s Theatre Viewing Committee announces nominations for the 23rd Annual NAACP Theatre Awards. The awards include 32 categories, which encompass local and equity nominations. This year’s awards show will be held on Monday, November 11, 2013, at 6:00 P.M. at the historical Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills, California, formerly known as the Fox Wilshire Theatre.

This year’s Equity Theatre nominations include an array of phenomenal productions including “Memphis”, securing seven nominations counting Christopher Ashley in the category of “Best Director of a Musical – Equity”. Locking in second place with six nominations, Henry Miller leads an all-star cast in the provocative “Fraternity” whose cast includes Rocky Carroll and Roger Robinson both nominated in the category of “Best Leading Male – Equity” and Robert Gossett and Mel Winkler both nominated in the category of “Best Supporting Male – Equity”. “Intimate Apparel” and “The Scottsboro Boys” tie for third place in the Equity category both with five nominations. For “Intimate Apparel” Tony-award nominee Sheldon Epps is nominated in the category of Best Director-Equity and for “The Scottsboro Boys” Susan Stroman receives a nomination in the category of Best Director of a Musical-Equity. In the category of Local Theatre nominations “Anna Lucasta” by Best Playwright-Local nominee Phillip Yordan, takes the lead with 11 nominations including Ashlee Olivia as Best Lead Female-Local. “In the Red & Brown Water” receives eight nominations including a Best Director-Local to Shirley Jo Finney and Best Supporting Female-Local to Iona Morris. The critically-acclaimed “Camp Logan” rounds out the local category with six nominations recognizing the producing team of Ben Guillory, Academy Award nominee Viola Davis, Julius Tennon, Juvee Productions, Vanessa Paul, Alex Morris and Sparkling Entertainment.

The Theatre Viewing Committee considers all candidates who submit their production from January 2012 through December 2012 for possible nomination. All productions must have a five consecutive week production run in Southern California (San Diego to Bakersfield included) to be considered. Productions who meet all eligibility requirements before the deadline are considered eligible for a 2013 NAACP Theatre Award. For more information on the NAACP Theatre Awards, please visit www.naacptheatreawards.com or call the office at (323) 464-7616.

About The NAACP Theatre Awards:
The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show. The prestigious star-studded gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment. The branch also celebrates a four-day theatre festival, which provides a platform for thespians to express their craft and share their contributions with an audience of their peers, the community and other individuals who celebrate live theatre in Los Angeles.

[See Full List Of Nominations Below]


Best Choreography – Equity
Memphis – Sergio Trujillo
For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow is Enuf – Fernando Christopher
The Scottsboro Boys – Susan Stroman

Best Choreography – Local
Anna Lucasta – Kellie Dantzler
In The Red & Brown Water – Ameenah Kaplan
The Color Purple – Janet Roston

Best Costumes – Equity
By The Way, Meet Vera Stark – ESosa
Intimate Apparel – Leah Piehl
Memphis – Paul Tazewell

Best Costumes – Local
Anna Lucasta – Naila Aladdin Sanders
In The Red & Brown Water – Naila Aladdin Sanders
The Blue Iris – Naila Aladdin Sanders

Best Director – Equity
Jitney – Ron OJ Parson
Intimate Apparel – Sheldon Epps
Memphis – Christopher Ashley

Best Director – Local
Camp Logan – Alex Morris.
In The Red & Brown Water – Shirley Jo Finney
Elimina’s Kitchen – Gregg T. Daniel

Best Director of a Musical – Equity
Memphis – Christopher Ashley
The Scottsboro Boys – Susan Stroman
Ain’t Misbehavin’ – Saundra McClain

Best Director of a Musical – Local
Fellowship – Joel McCrary
Down Around Brown Town – Frit & Frat Fuller
The Merchant of Venice with music: Something of Silver – Tony Tanner

Best Ensemble Cast – Equity
By The Way, Meet Vera Stark
The Scottsboro Boys

Best Ensemble Cast – Local
Elimina’s Kitchen
Innocent Flesh
The Cell Block Seven

Best Lead Female – Equity
The Convert – Pascale Armand

Best Lead Female – Local
Anna Lucasta – Ashlee Olivia
In The Red & Brown Water – Diarra Kilpatrick
The Color Purple – Cesili Williams

Best Lead Male – Equity
The Recommendation – Brandon Gill
Fraternity – Rocky Carroll
Fraternity – Roger Robinson

Best Lead Male – Local
Anna Lucasta – Nick Gillie
Anna Lucasta – Dwain A. Perry
Take Me Out – Sean Cameron – Young

Best Lighting – Equity
Memphis – Howell Binkley
Intimate Apparel – Brian L. Gale
The Recommendation – Philip S. Rosenberg

Best Lighting – Local
Camp Logan – Sammie Wayne IV
In The Red & Brown Water – Jose Lopez
The Blue Iris – Jeff McLaughlin

Best Music Director – Equity
Memphis – Christopher Jahnke
The Scottsboro Boys – Eric Ebbenga
Ain’t Misbehavin’ – Rahn Coleman

Best Music Director – Local
Hoodoo Love – Haskel Joseph
Elimina’s Kitchen – Leon Morenzie
The Color Purple – Gregory Nabours

Best One Person Show – Equity

Best One Person Show – Local
Uncle Jacques’ Symphony – Dominic Hoffman
The World is My Home – The Life of Paul Roberson – Stogie Kenyatta
Lovin’ Chocolate – Kelley Williams

Best Playwright – Equity
The Recommendation – Jonathan Caren
Memphis – Joe DiPietro & David Bryan
The Convert – Danai Gurira

Best Playwright – Local
Camp Logan – Celeste Bedford Walker
Anna Lucasta – Philip Yordan
Doubt, A Parable – John Patrick Shanley

Best Producer – Equity
The Convert – Center Theatre Group, McCarter Theatre Center & Goodman Theatre
The Recommendation – The Old Globe
Fraternity – Ebony Repertory Theatre & Wren T. Brown

Best Producer – Local
Camp Logan – Ben Guillory – Robey Theatre Co., Viola Davis, Julius Tennon, Juvee Productions, Vanessa Paul and Alex Morris, Sparkling City Entertainment
In The Red & Brown Water – Stephen Sachs & Deborah Lawlor
Doubt, A Parable – Calia Mintzer-Wolf & Linda Reinhardt

Best Set Design – Equity
Intimate Apparel – John Lacovelli
Jitney – Shaun Motley
The Scottsboror Boys – Beowulf Boritt

Best Set Design – Local
Anna Lucasta – Tom Meleck
Camp Logan – Rodney Rincon & Phil Buono
Doubt, A Parable – Michael-Anthony Nozzi

Best Sound – Equity
Memphis – Ken Travis
Intimate Apparel – Steven Cahill
By The Way, Meet Vera Stark – John Gromada

Best Sound – Local
Anna Lucasta – Eric Butler
Camp Logan – Eric Butler
Innocent Flesh – Pennix McGee, Ken Christianson & Jwyanza Hobson

Best Supporting Female – Equity
The Convert – Cheryl Lynn Bruce
The Convert – Zainab Jah
Dividing The Estate – Pat Bowie

Best Supporting Female – Local
Anna Lucasta – Cydney Wayne Davis
In The Red & Brown Water – Iona Morris
Doubt, A Parable – Jacquelin Schofield

Best Supporting Male – Equity
Fraternity – William Allen Young
Fraternity – Robert Gossett
Fraternity – Mel Winkler

Best Supporting Male – Local
Anna Lucasta – Sammie Wayne IV
In The Red & Brown Water – Gilbert Glenn Brown
Anna Lucasta – Carl Crudup