National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers elect new officers and board members

Share with:

2010-11 Officers and newly elected Board of Directors’ members sworn-in at annual meeting


 Washington, DC  – NACDL elected and swore in its new Officers and Board of Directors members at its annual conference in Toronto, Canada, on Aug. 14, 2010.

Co-Chair of The Champion Advisory Board and Professor Ellen S. Podgor was awarded the 30th annual Robert C. Heeney Memorial Award, NACDL’s most prestigious honor. She is the LeRoy Highbaugh Sr. Research Chair and Professor of Law at Stetson University College of Law. Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada Beverley McLachlin was awarded the Judicial Recognition Award. And San Antonio, Tex., attorneys Leslie Sara Hyman and Meagan M. Gillette were awarded Champion of Justice Awards.

Election Results are as follows:

Executive Committee

President: Jim E. Lavine (Houston, TX)
President Elect: Lisa M. Wayne (Denver, CO)
First Vice-President: Steven D. Benjamin (Richmond, VA)
Second Vice-President: Jerry J. Cox (Mount Vernon, KY)
Treasurer: Theodore Simon (Philadelphia, PA)
Secretary: E.G. Morris (Austin, TX)
Parliamentarian: Barry J. Pollack (Washington, DC)

Board of Directors

Chris Adams (Atlanta, GA)
Sara Azari (Los Angeles, CA)
Brian H. Bieber (Coral Gables, FL)
Jay Clark (Cincinnati, OH)
Richard S. Jaffe (Birmingham, AL)
Evan A. Jenness (Santa Monica, CA)
Gregory J. Kuykendall (Tucson, AZ)
George H. Newman (Philadelphia, PA)
Timothy P. O’Toole (Washington, DC)
Maria H. Sandoval (San Juan, PR)
Gail Shifman (San Francisco, CA)
Edward J. Ungvarsky (Arlington, VA)
Christopher A. Wellborn (Rock Hill, SC)
Steven M. Wells (Anchorage, AK)
Christie N. Williams (Dallas, TX)
William P. Wolf (Chicago, IL)

Board of Directors Members Christopher Wellborn (Rock Hill, SC) and Jennifer Lynn Thompson (Nashville, TN) were selected to serve on the Executive Committee.

The National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers is the preeminent organization advancing the mission of the criminal defense bar to ensure justice and due process for persons accused of crime or wrongdoing. A professional bar association founded in 1958, NACDL’s 10,000-plus direct members in 28 countries – and 90 state, provincial and local affiliate organizations totaling more than 40,000 attorneys – include private criminal defense lawyers, putlic defenders, military defense counsel, law professors and judges committed to preserving fairness and promoting a rational and humane criminal justice system.

Share with:

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :