Illinois AFL-CIO endorses Giannoulias, Quinn

Share with:

 Springfield, IL – Delegates of the Illinois AFL-CIO Committee on Political Education (COPE) voted to endorse Alexi Giannoulias for U.S. Senate and Governor Pat Quinn and Sheila Simon in the General Election.


“It was a long, heated debate leading up to today’s endorsements,” said Michael T.

Carrigan, president of the State Labor Federation. “We have affiliates who are angry

with many of our elected officials who they feel have not kept their promises to stand up

for working families in this state. Our delegates carefully considered the options and

made each endorsement in a democratic way. Now the Illinois AFL-CIO will move

forward and support these endorsed candidates in the November election. That doesn’t

mean that all of our affiliates will participate. Some will not. And that is their



In other statewide races, the Illinois AFL-CIO endorsed Lisa Madigan for Attorney

General, Jesse White for Secretary of State, David Miller for Comptroller and Robin

Kelly for Treasurer. The group also unanimously endorsed Justice Thomas Kilbride for

retention to the Illinois Supreme Court. All other endorsements are listed below and will

be posted on the Illinois AFL-CIO web site at


Voting delegates of the Illinois AFL-CIO COPE include representatives of the executive

board, all affiliated unions, International unions, District Councils, Central Labor

Councils, Building Trades Councils and constituency groups.


The Illinois AFL-CIO will be supporting endorsed candidates with a legion of campaign

volunteers and through member to member mailings, phone calls and workplace flyers.

The Illinois AFL-CIO represents over 1,500 affiliated labor unions with one million

members across the state.



Supreme Court – Third District (retention)

Tom Kilbride 

Appellate Court – First District

James Epstein (D)


1 Bobby Rush (D)

2 Jesse Jackson Jr. (D)

3 Dan Lipinski (D)

4 Luis Gutierrez (D)

5 Mike Quigley (D)

7 Danny Davis (D)

8 Melissa L. Bean (D)

9 Jan Schakowsky (D)

10 Dan Seals (D)

11 Debbie Halvorson (D)

12 Jerry Costello (D)

13 Scott Harper (D)

14 Bill Foster (D)

15 David Gill (D)

16 George Gaulrapp (D)

17 Phil Hare (D)

18 Dierdre “D.K.” Hirner (D)

19 Tim Bagwell (D)




Alexi Giannoulias (D)





Pat Quinn (D)


Sheila Simon (D)


Lisa Madigan (D)


Jesse White (D)


David Miller (D)


Robin Kelly (D)



Illinois Senate


1 Tony Munoz (D)

4 Kimberly Lightford (D)

7 Heather Steans (D)

10 John Mulroe (D)

13 Kwame Raoul (D)

16 Jacqueline Collins (D)

19 Maggie Crotty (D)

22 Michael Noland (D)

25 Leslie Juby (D)

28 Corinne Michelle Pierog (D)

31 Michael Bond (D)

40 Toi Hutchinson (D)

43 A. J. Wilhelmi (D)

46 David Koehler (D)

49 Deanna Demuzio (D)

51 Tim Dudley (D)

52 Michael Frerichs (D)

55 Josh Weger (D)

58 Jeremy Walker (D)


Illinois House of Representatives


1 Susana Mendoza (D)

2 Edward Acevedo (D)

3 Luis Arroyo (D)

4 Cynthia Soto (D)

5 Kenneth Dunkin (D)

6 Esther Golar (D)

7 Karen Yarbrough (D)

8 LaShawn Ford (D)

10 Annazette Collins (D)

11 Ann Williams (D)

12 Sara Feigenholtz (D)

13 Gregory Harris (D)

14 Harry Osterman (D)

15 John D’Amico (D)

16 Lou Lang (D)

17 Daniel Biss (D)

18 Robyn Gabel (D)

19 Joseph Lyons (D)

20 Michael McAuliffe (R)

21 Michael J. Zalewski (D)

22 Michael Madigan (D)

23 Daniel Burke (D)

24 Lisa Hernandez (D)

25 Barbara Flynn Currie (D)

26 Will Burns (D)

27 Monique Davis (D)

28 Robert Rita (D)

29 Thaddeus Jones (D)

30 Will Davis (D)

31 Mary Flowers (D)

32 Andre Thapedi (D)

33 Marlow Colvin (D)

34 Connie Howard (D)

35 Kevin Joyce (D)

36 Kelly Burke (D)

37 Kevin McCarthy (D)

38 Al Riley (D)

39 Maria “Toni” Berrios (D)

40 Deborah Mell (D)

43 Keith Farnham (D)

44 Fred Crespo (D)

46 Deborah O’Keefe Conroy (D)

49 Jennifer Barconi (D)

56 Michelle Mussman (D)

57 Elaine Nekritz (D)

58 Karen May (D)

59 Carol Sente (D)

63 Jack Franks (D)

66 Mark Walker (D)

67 Chuck Jefferson (D)

69 Ray Pendzinski (D)

71 Dennis Ahern (D)

72 Pat Verschoore (D)

74 Donald Moffitt (R)

75 Careen Gordon (D)

76 Frank Mautino (D)

77 Angelo “Skip” Saviano (R)

79 Lisa Dugan (D)

80 Anthony DeLuca (D)

83 Linda Chapa LaVia (D)

85 Emily McAsey (D)

86 Jack McGuire (D)

91 Michael Smith (D)

92 Jehan Gordon (D)

98 Charles Landers (D)

101 Robert Flider (D)

103 Naomi Jakobsson (D)

104 Michael Puhr (D)

111 Daniel Beiser (D)

112 Jay Hoffman (D)

113 Tom Holbrook (D)

114 Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr. (D)

116 Dan Reitz (D)

117 John Bradley (D)

118 Brandon Phelps (D)

Share with:

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :