Big wins for Madigan, White, Kirk, Preckwinkle and Berrios; Governor’s race still hanging by a thread

Share with:

By Juanita Bratcher


Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan, Sec’y of State Jesse White, Republican Senator-Elect Mark Kirk and County Board President-Elect Toni Preckwinkle won handily in yesterday’s election but the governor’s race remains in limbo. While Governor Pat Quinn is leading by a slight margin, there are thousands of absentee ballots yet to be counted.

 In unofficial returns, Quinn is leading by little more than 9,000 votes. While Quinn has claimed victory, Brady said he won’t concede until all the absentee votes are counted and hinted that the governor’s race results could well take a month before the official count is in.

 Attorney General Lisa Madigan is entering into her third term as attorney general. She was first elected in 2003.

 Secretary of State Jesse White won by an overwhelming wide margin over Republican Robert Enriquez.

 In a prepared statement, White said he was “honored” that people have seen improvements in the Secretary of State’s Office. 

 “I’d like to thank the people of Illinois for their overwhelming support for my re-election. I’m honored that people have seen the improvements in the office from cleaning up the culture of corruption to making the roads of Illinois safer and to making the office much more consumer friendly. My number one priority is and always will be the people of Illinois. I am honored to have your support and continue to be the best possible Secretary of State for the next four years.

 Preckwinkle, a former history teacher and Chicago Alderman, is the first woman to be elected President of the Cook County Board, although Cook County Commissioner Bobbie Steele served as interim President of the County Board after President John Stroger resigned from the post after suffering a debilitating stroke a week before the primary election. He won the primary election. But in his July 7, 2006 Resignation Letter, Stroger asked Democratic powerbrokers to slate his son, Todd Stroger, for the post in the General Election. They followed his wishes because John had always been a loyal Democrat. I’m proud of the time I served with him as his Press Secretary in the primary election. Todd Stroger won the election but was ousted by Preckwinkle in this year’s (2010) primary election.

 While it was a razor-thin win, Republican Senator-Elect Mark Kirk won President Barack Obama’s old senate seat over Democrat Alexi Giannoulias, who received Obama’s endorsement.

 Kirk greeted commuters this morning to say thanks for their support.

 Pat Brady, Chairman of the Illinois Republican Party, said Kirk will bring common sense back to Washington.

“The voters of Illinois have taken a bold step forward by electing Mark Kirk as the next U.S. Senator from Illinois. We must bring common sense back to Washington and stop the runaway spending, and Mark Kirk will do just that.

“I am also heartened to see our string of Congressional victories for Robert Dold, Randy Hultgren, Adam Kinzinger, Bobby Schilling and Joe Walsh. They will join Mark Kirk and our other Republican members of Congress in helping to put the brakes on the Obama agenda.

“Republicans have also strengthened our influence in Springfield with victories by Judy Baar Topinka for Illinois Comptroller and Dan Rutherford for Treasurer. And, our state legislative victories will go a long way toward moderating the Democratic majority in the Illinois House and Senate.

“We will have to wait awhile longer for the outcome in the Governor’s race. Bill Brady ran a tough campaign against an incumbent. Senator Brady is no stranger to close elections, and has emerged victorious in the past.”

Cook County Board of Appeals Commissioner Joseph Berrios pushed back a challenge from Cook County Commissioner Forrest Claypool. Berrios had the support of the Democratic Party and Claypool, a Democrat, ran as an independent.

Other winners were: Judy Barr Topinka (R), who won the post of Illinois State Comptroller; Dan Rutherford (R), State Treasurer. Winners in re-election bids were: Maria Pappas (D) Country Treasurer; David Orr, County Clerk; Michael Madigan (D), Illinois Speaker of the House; Thomas Dart, Cook County Sheriff; Congressmen Danny Davis, Bobby Rush, Jesse Jackson, Jr., Mike Quigley. Cook County Commissioner Tony Peraica lost his bid for re-election.

An Amendment on the ballot for “Recall of Governor” also passed.

Share with:

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :