January , 2019

Email This Post Email This Post


36 communities across 29 Illinois counties receive public infrastructure funds


SPRINGFIELD, IL – The Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity (DCEO) announced the recipients of the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) for Public Infrastructure. Thirty-six communities across the state will receive federal funds totaling $14.5 million.

“Public infrastructure is important not only for the day-to-day function of Illinoisans, but to bolster growth and economic development within a community,” said Governor Rauner. “These grant dollars will be used for projects such as water, sanitary and sewer system improvements that will greatly support our low-income communities and attract more opportunities for residents.”

CDBG recipients:

Alexander County

Village of Thebes – $208,650 – Water treatment plant improvements

Bond County

Village of Sorento – $500,000 – Construction of new elevated water storage tank

Bureau County

Village of DePue – $288,104 – Replace the current Princeton Street booster station

City of Princeton – $500,000 – Sanitary sewer line replacement

Christian County

Village of Morrisonville – $500,000 – Sanitary sewer improvements

Village of Mount Auburn – $500,000 – Proposed water system improvements

Coles County

Village of Ashmore – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Cumberland County

Village of Greenup – $170,000 – New water main distribution and appurtenances

Cottonwood Township – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Edgar County

Hunter Township – $185,000 – Water distribution improvements

Effingham County

Village of Watson – $103,425 – Sanitary sewer improvements

Watson Township – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

City of Effingham – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Fayette County

City of St. Elmo – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Village of Ramsey – $500,000 – Sanitary sewer improvements

Fayette County – $500,000 – New water main distribution and appurtenances

Franklin County

Village of Royalton – $500,000 – Improvements to existing sewage treatment plant

Hancock County

City of LaHarpe – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Iroquois County

Village of Loda – $500,000 – Construction of new elevated water storage tank

Jasper County

Village of Willow Hill – $144,900 – Replace a lift station and upgrade sewer lagoon

Jo Daviess County

Village of Stockton – $453,700 – Water distribution improvements

Knox County

City of Abingdon- $500,000 – Sanitary sewer improvements

LaSalle County

City of LaSalle – $500,000 – Separate storm sewer flows

Lawrence County

City of Bridgeport – $500,000 – Sanitary sewer improvements

Macon County

Village of Niantic – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Massac County

Massac County – $199,890 – New water lines to the Southland Subdivision

Mercer County

Village of Joy – $500,000 – Construction of new elevated water storage tank

Montgomery County

Audubon Township – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Morgan County

Village of Chapin – $483,600 – Replace existing wastewater lagoon aeration system

Putman County

Village of Standard – $81,500 – New storm water pumping station

Shelby County

Clarksburg Township – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Warren County

City of Monmouth – $500,000 – Water distribution improvements

Wayne County

Big Mound Township – $111,018 – Install new rural waterlines and connect homes

White County

City of Carmi – $90,387 – New lift station, and replacement of sewer line

Williamson County

City of Carterville – $500,000 – Water system improvements

Winnebago County

Village of Durand – $500,000 – Potable water well improvements

The CDBG program was established by the federal Housing and Community Development Act of 1974 (Act).  Administered nationally by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), DCEO administers the State of Illinois CDBG – Small Cities Program.  State-administered funds are only available to units of general local government (i.e., cities, villages, townships and counties). Municipalities must be 50,000 or less in population and must not be located in an urban county that receives entitlement program funds (there are 42 entitlement communities in Illinois that receive their own allocation of CDBG funds).

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts