49th Ward Recommendations for Tuesday’s Election

Tomorrow, Tuesday, March 20th) is Primary Election Day.  If you haven’t done so already, please vote.  Polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

To find your polling place location, CLICK HERE and type in your address only.  Please note some polling place locations have changed since the last election, so it’s always a good idea to verify your location before you go to vote.

You also can vote early today (Monday) at sites across the City, including the Pottawattomie Park Fieldhouse, 7340 N. Rogers (open 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.) and downtown at 16 W. Adams (open 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.).

For a list of our recommended candidates in the Democratic Primary, scroll to the bottom of this e-mail. They are the candidates endorsed by the members of the 49th Ward Democratic Party.

In the 49th Ward Democratic Party, the members of the party, not the elected officials, make the endorsement decisions.  They are progressive-minded volunteers, not paid political workers. They make their endorsement decisions after hearing from all the candidates in an open and democratic process.

Print the list and take it to the polls–or display it on your Smart Phone when you vote–to help you make an informed decision.

When you vote, you will notice one of the races for Water Reclamation District Commissioner has no candidates listed. This is due to the unexpected death of Commissioner Tim Bradford, who passed away just a day before the candidate filing deadline. As a result, the vacancy in his seat can be filled only by a write-in candidate.

We are supporting Barack Obama’s Great Lake’s Liaison, Cam Davis, who is endorsed by the Sierra Club, Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky, and Water Reclamation District Commissioner Debra Shore.

Here’s how you write (or type) in Cam Davis’ name:

When you get to the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District portion of the ballot, you will see “Vacancy of Bradford” with no candidates listed. This is where you write in Cam Davis’ name.

On a paper ballot: Write “Cam Davis” on the line between the arrows.

On a touch screen: Tap on the blank space under “No Candidate.” Using the keyboard, type “Cam Davis” and press “OK.”

Regardless of whom you support, we strongly encourage you to vote.



49th Ward Democratic Party

Vice President
49th Ward Democratic Party

The Endorsed Candidates of the 49th Ward Democratic Party 

Print this list and take it with you to the polls or refer to it on your smartphone when you vote

Governor and Lieutenant Governor
(3) Daniel Biss & Litesa E. Wallace

Attorney General
(8) Pat Quinn

Secretary of State
(16) Jesse White

(17) Susana A. Mendoza

(18) Michael W. Frerichs

U.S. Representative, 9th District
(21) Janice D. Schakowsky

State Central Committeewoman, 9th District
(31) Carol Ronen

State Central Committeeman, 9th District
(32) Michael Cabonargi

State Representative, 14th District
(52) Kelly M. Cassidy

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Full 6-Year Term (Vote for 3)
(62) Debra Shore
(63) Kari K. Steele
(64) Martin J. Durkan

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Unexpired 2-Year Term
(69) Kimberly Neely Dubuclet

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioners (Bradford Vacancy)
Write (or type) in “Cam Davis”

President of County Board
(71) Toni Preckwinkle

County Clerk
(73) Karen A. Yarbrough

County Sheriff
(76) Thomas J. Dart

County Treasurer
(79) Maria Pappas

County Assessor
(81) Frederick “Fritz” Kaegi

County Commissioner, 10th District
(91) Bridget Gainer

County Commissioner, 13th District
(92) Larry Suffredin

Board of Review, 2nd District
(101) Michael Cabonargi

Judge of the Circuit Court
(121) Oran F. Whiting (Vacancy of Brewer)
(127) Jonathan Clark Green (Vacancy of Clay)
(130) Tom Sam Sianis (Vacancy of Dooling)
(133) Rosa Maria Silva (Vacancy of Egan)
(134) Thomas F. McGuire (Vacancy of Dunford)
(136) Preston Jones, Jr. (Vacancy of Flanagan)
(139) Cecilia Anne Horan (Vacancy of Hartigan)
(141) Clare Joyce Quish  (Vacancy of Jordan)
(145) Peter Michael Gonzalez (Vacancy of McGinnis)
(147) Jack Hagerty (Vacancy of Prendergast Rooney)

Judge, 8th Subcircuit
(151) James “Jamie” Shapiro (Vacancy of Fabri)
(157) Lindsay Huge (Vacancy of Liu)
(161) Jeanne Marie Wrenn (Vacancy of Pethers)

Advisory Referenda

“Shall the State of Illinois legalize the cultivation, manufacture, distribution, testing, and sale of marijuana and marijuana products for recreational use by adults 21 and older subject to state regulation, taxation and local ordinance?”

Vote “YES”

“Should Governor Rauner act to protect the 650,000 Illinois residents who obtained health insurance through the Affordable Care Act by supporting legislation amending the Illinois Insurance Code to preserve important benefits like pediatric services and maternity care, and by investing in outreach campaigns to encourage residents to sign up for health insurance?”

Vote “YES”

“Should Governor Rauner support Illinois legislation to ban firearm bump stocks and strengthen penalties on illegal gun traffickers?”

Vote “YES”

“Should the State of Illinois develop a comprehensive strategy to address the recent rise in opioid-related and heroin-related deaths including committing additional state resources for addiction treatment and requiring health insurers to cover opioid alternatives and limitations on prescription length?”

Vote “YES”