February , 2019

Email This Post Email This Post

Early Voting Hours Extended

Posted by Admin On March - 12 - 2018

Early voting hours extended to 7:00 p.m. Check out our sample ballot.


Early voting for the March 2018 Primary Election continues this week at locations throughout the City, including the Pottawattomie Park Fieldhouse, 7340 N. Rogers (just west of the Metra tracks). For your convenience, early voting is extended from 9:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. Monday through Friday this week at all early voting locations. 

Early voting also is taking place next Saturday, March 17th, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Sunday, March 18th, from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and Monday, March 19th, from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

For more information on early voting and voting by mail, CLICK HERE.

As usual, the ballot contains many candidates running for many offices. To assist in your voting choices, I am providing a list of the candidates endorsed by the members of the 49th Ward Democratic Party.


In the 49th Ward Democratic Party, the members of the party, not the elected officials, make the endorsement decisions.  They are progressive-minded volunteers, not paid political workers. They make their endorsement decisions after hearing from all the candidates in an open and democratic process.

The candidates below are the ones that the members of the 49th Ward Democratic Party believe are best equipped to lead the battle for our progressive values and defeat the Trump/Rauner Republicans in November.

As the 49th Ward Democratic Committeeman, I strongly support their recommendations.

When you vote, you will notice one of the races for Water Reclamation District Commissioner has no candidates listed. This is due to the unexpected death of Commissioner Tim Bradford, who passed away just a day before the candidate filing deadline. As a result, the vacancy in his seat can be filled only by a write-in candidate.

We are supporting Barack Obama’s Great Lake’s Liaison, Cam Davis, who is endorsed by the Sierra Club, Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky, and Water Reclamation District Commissioner Debra Shore.

Here’s how you write (or type) in Cam Davis’ name:

When you get to the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District portion of the ballot, you will see “Vacancy of Bradford” with no candidates listed. This is where you write in Cam Davis’ name.

On a paper ballot: Write “Cam Davis” on the line between the arrows.

On a touch screen: Tap on the blank space under “No Candidate.” Using the keyboard, type “Cam Davis” and press “OK.”

Finally, we can use your help in the final weeks leading up to the election, as well as Election Day itself. These endorsements mean nothing unless people know about them. Your help is critical in getting the word out. Please reply to this email or call the 49th Ward Democratic Party at 773-973-4949 and we’ll sign you up!

Regardless of whom you support, I strongly encourage you to vote.


Joe Moore

The Endorsed Candidates of the 49th Ward Democratic Party and Alderman/Committeeman Joe Moore

Print this list and take it with you to the polls or refer to it on your smartphone when you vote

Governor and Lieutenant Governor
(3) Daniel Biss & Litesa E. Wallace

Attorney General
(8) Pat Quinn

Secretary of State
(16) Jesse White

(17) Susana A. Mendoza

(18) Michael W. Frerichs

U.S. Representative, 9th District
(21) Janice D. Schakowsky

State Central Committeewoman, 9th District
(31) Carol Ronen

State Central Committeeman, 9th District
(32) Michael Cabonargi

State Representative, 14th District
(52) Kelly M. Cassidy

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Full 6-Year Term (Vote for 3)
(62) Debra Shore
(63) Kari K. Steele
(64) Martin J. Durkan

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Unexpired 2-Year Term
(69) Kimberly Neely Dubuclet

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioners (Bradford Vacancy)
Write (or type) in “Cam Davis”

President of County Board
(71) Toni Preckwinkle

County Clerk
(73) Karen A. Yarbrough

County Sheriff
(76) Thomas J. Dart

County Treasurer
(79) Maria Pappas

County Assessor
(81) Frederick “Fritz” Kaegi

County Commissioner, 10th District
(91) Bridget Gainer

County Commissioner, 13th District
(92) Larry Suffredin

Board of Review, 2nd District
(101) Michael Cabonargi

Judge of the Circuit Court
(121) Oran F. Whiting (Vacancy of Brewer)
(127) Jonathan Clark Green (Vacancy of Clay)
(130) Tom Sam Sianis (Vacancy of Dooling)
(133) Rosa Maria Silva (Vacancy of Egan)
(134) Thomas F. McGuire (Vacancy of Dunford)
(136) Preston Jones, Jr. (Vacancy of Flanagan)
(139) Cecilia Anne Horan (Vacancy of Hartigan)
(141) Clare Joyce Quish  (Vacancy of Jordan)
(145) Peter Michael Gonzalez (Vacancy of McGinnis)
(147) Jack Hagerty (Vacancy of Prendergast Rooney)

Judge, 8th Subcircuit
(151) James “Jamie” Shapiro (Vacancy of Fabri)
(157) Lindsay Huge (Vacancy of Liu)
(161) Jeanne Marie Wrenn (Vacancy of Pethers)

Advisory Referenda

“Shall the State of Illinois legalize the cultivation, manufacture, distribution, testing, and sale of marijuana and marijuana products for recreational use by adults 21 and older subject to state regulation, taxation and local ordinance?”

Vote “YES”

“Should Governor Rauner act to protect the 650,000 Illinois residents who obtained health insurance through the Affordable Care Act by supporting legislation amending the Illinois Insurance Code to preserve important benefits like pediatric services and maternity care, and by investing in outreach campaigns to encourage residents to sign up for health insurance?”

Vote “YES”

“Should Governor Rauner support Illinois legislation to ban firearm bump stocks and strengthen penalties on illegal gun traffickers?”

Vote “YES”

“Should the State of Illinois develop a comprehensive strategy to address the recent rise in opioid-related and heroin-related deaths including committing additional state resources for addiction treatment and requiring health insurers to cover opioid alternatives and limitations on prescription length?”

Vote “YES”

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts