April , 2019

Email This Post Email This Post

Madigan & 22 Attorneys General Fight to Protect Rule Set to End April 23


CHICAGO, IL – Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan and 22 other attorneys general filed a multistate lawsuit to block the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC) illegal rollback of net neutrality rules after the FCC officially published its so-called Restoring Internet Freedom Order, effectively killing net neutrality on April 23.


The attorneys general re-filed their petition today in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit against the FCC and the federal government after the FCC moved to dismiss a protective petition previously filed by the states on Jan. 16.


“I will continue to fight to protect net neutrality from the FCC’s ill-advised attempt to put corporations ahead of the American public’s right to access free information,” Madigan said. “We won’t allow this administration to control what Americans view and access online.”


The repeal of net neutrality would have dire consequences for consumers and businesses in Illinois and across the country that rely on a free and open internet – allowing internet service providers to block and slow the quality of certain content and charge consumers to access certain sites.


In December 2017, Madigan and a coalition of attorneys general urged the FCC to delay its vote in light of widespread reports that millions of comments regarding net neutrality were submitted under fraudulent or stolen identities. Madigan and the coalition stressed the importance of public participation and encouraged the FCC to cooperate with investigations by law enforcement agencies. Madigan also called on the FBI to investigate the sources of the fraudulent comments.


Previously, in July 2017, Madigan led a coalition of 14 attorneys general in submitting comments to the FCC opposing the proposed rollback of the critical net neutrality protections. Madigan argued that the FCC must ensure open access to the internet and the continued equal access to all content providers, which can only be upheld through the principles of an open internet.


Joining Madigan in filing the lawsuit are the attorneys general of California, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Hawaii, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.


A copy of the filing can be found here.



You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts