December , 2018

Email This Post Email This Post

Honoring Joe Morton, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Ledisi, Rory Pullens with legendary presenters Debbie Allen, Loretta Devine, Kenny Leon 


NAACP Theatre Awards

Beverly Hills, CA — The Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch announces the co-hosts for the 26th Annual NAACP Theatre awards being held on Monday, November 21, 2016, at Saban Theatre located at 8440 Wilshire Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA, 90211 at 6pm. Co-hosting this year will be Actress Wendy Raquel Robinson and Actor Miguel Nunez, Jr.

One of the most talented, professional actors in the entertainment industry, Wendy Raquel Robinson is known for her groundbreaking role as the sexy and feisty sports manager Tasha Mack from BETs #1 rated scripted series, The Game. Ms. Robinson earned a 2015 and 2016 NAACP Image Award nomination for Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series and is the 2014 NAACP Image Award recipient for Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series. She is the founder of a NAACP Award winning program, Amazing Grace Conservatory (AGC), a community based non-profit, 501(c)3 in South Los Angeles that focuses on performing arts training in acting, voice and dance for youth, ages 5-18.

Funny man Miguel Nunez has made a name for himself and built quite a fan base over the years. Born into a family of nine children in New York, following high school he moved to Los Angeles with dreams of becoming an actor. Hes best known as Jamal in the basketball comedy film, Juwanna Man with other prominent roles in Harlem Nights, LIFE, Why Do Fools Fall in Love and UPNs hit television show SPARKS. In his latest film project, he stars alongside rapper/actor AKON in The American King hitting theatres in 2017.

Multi-NAACP Image award and EMMY award winner Joe Morton, famously known for his role as Eli Pope in ABCs Scandal, will be presented the NAACP Lifetime Achievement Theatre Award by Actress, Choreographer and Executive Producer of Greys Anatomy Debbie Allen. Tony award winning Director Kenny Leon, who is scheduled to direct Hairspray Live! on NBC December 7, 2016, will be on hand to present accomplished actress and 2016 Tony Award Nominee LaTanya Richardson Jackson with the NAACP Trailblazer Theatre Award. Americas dreamgirl, the uber-talented and award winning actress Loretta Devine, will bestow our honoree, nine-time Grammy nominee and now thespian Ledisi with the Spirit Theatre Award. In addition to these esteemed thespians, honoree Rory Pullens, Executive Director of Arts Education Los Angeles Unified School District and former CEO at the nationally renowned Duke Ellington School of Arts in Washington, D.C. will receive the Humanitarian Award.

Other notables and gifted entertainers who will present awards to the 2016 NAACP nominees include: Kenny Lattimore (Artist), Pooch Hall (Ray Donovan), Marsai Martin and Miles Brown (Black-ish), Renee Lawless (The Haves and Have Nots), Omar Dorsey and Timon Kyle Garrett (Queen Sugar), Keesha Sharp (Lethal Weapon), Tonya Renee Banks (Little Women LA), Ted Lange (Veteran actor and thespian), Paul Jackson Jr., (Jazz Guitarist) and many more! These entertainers will all unite for one special evening to honor those who have made a difference in the theatre community and abroad.

Performances by 2016 EMMY Award winner Obba Babatunde with a special rendition of Mr. Bojangles and Tammi Mac will delight the audience with a dramatic excerpt from her 2016 NAACP Theatre Award winning one-woman play Bag Lady plus a powerful opening act that will draw attention to the positivity behind the BLACK LIVES MATTER movement are scheduled.

For more information about the 26th Annual NAACP Theater Awards, visit www.naacptheatreawards.com or contact Lisa Humphrey, Premier Concepts at 310-293-4154, email: media@premierconceptspr.com.
About The NAACP Theatre Awards:
The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch in partnership with the 8th District office of Councilmember Bernard C. Parks and co-chaired by Byron K. Reed, Senior Vice President of Wells Fargo-West Region Community Relations. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show. The prestigious star-studded gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment. The branch also celebrated a four-day theatre festival, which provides a platform for thespians to express their craft and share their contributions with an audience of their peers, the community and other individuals who celebrate live theatre in Los Angeles.


You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts