November , 2018

Email This Post Email This Post

ISBE recognizes 82 students for winning awards in 24 competitive events

SPRINGFIELD, IL — The Illinois State Board of Education recognized 82 high school and occupational school students from 21 schools across Illinois for their achievements in National Students Taking Action with Recognition (STAR) Competitive Events at the 2016 Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) National Leadership Conference. Illinois students from across the state won awards in 24 of the 29 STAR events, such as Advocacy; Applied Math for Culinary Management; Early Childhood Education; Fashion Design; Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation; Interpersonal Communication; and Sports Nutrition.

FCCLA promotes co-curricular activities that are focused on family and consumer sciences career and technical education programs. The organization aims to provide students with leadership opportunities, promote problem-solving and collaboration skills, and support college and career readiness. More than 160,000 students belong to 5,400 FCCLA chapters nationwide.

“It is so important that our students graduate from high school ready for college and career,” said State Superintendent of Education Tony Smith, Ph.D. “Programs like FCCLA strengthen the leadership, communication, and critical-thinking skills that will help students achieve inside and outside of the classroom. I am excited to congratulate these Illinois students for demonstrating initiative and success in their fields of interest.”

The national conference hosted top competitors from across the country, convening approximately 4,500 total student participants. Students learned from speakers and engaged with their peers in workshops and competitions. The theme of this year’s conference, “Empowered,” encouraged students to utilize the skills they have gained from their involvement in FCCLA to make a difference in their schools and communities.

FCCLA held the National Leadership Conference in San Diego, California, in July. The following students were awarded gold, silver, or bronze medals:

Ø  Adlai E. Stevenson High School: Jamie Berman, Robin Cheifetz, Camryn Hirsch, Stephanie Martin, Madison Randol, Laura Thornburg, Lindsey Wetle, Jordan Zatz

Ø  Alton High School: Emma Ernst, Kaitlyn Zini

Ø  Arcola Jr./Sr. High School: Macy Trejo

Ø  Bartlett High School: Allison Brown

Ø  Dwight Twp. High School: Leah Flynn, Lucy Rieke, Hannah Van der Karr

Ø  Glenbrook North: Zainab Ahmed, Riana Bakis, Anujin Batbold, Morgan Berg, Michael Bubaris, Megan Cho, Lizzy Donnelly, Samantha Heyman, Janet Lee, Liza McMahon, Chloe Meier, Molly Mulvihill, Grace Schwandner, Stephanie Serbu, Blake Stephenson, Benjamin Zhao

Ø  Glenbrook South: Alexia Roberts, Ashley Roberts

Ø  Knoxville: Maddy Grady, Darcy Ratermann, Danielle Rossell

Ø  Libertyville High School: Anna Mackey

Ø  Lockport Township High School: Tim Behland

Ø  Maine South High School: Maggie Ek, Kristie Guercio

Ø  Maine West: Quin Santucci

Ø  Mount Pulaski High School: TJ Benhart, Max Coppinger, Josh Dyer, Sam Koehl, Eli Olson, Lauren Thompson

Ø  Oakland CUSD #5: Erica Butler, Lauren Lankster, Taylor Veach

Ø  Prospect High School: Ashna Alex, Payton Chantry, Maddie Diluia, Jordan Dushane, Abby Fleig, Paige Gillogly, Ellie Gut, Ally Harrington, Dayna Laffey, Amy Lee, Faith Lindell, Lili Schober, Hannah Trais, Hanna Walker

Ø  ROWVA: Nicole Brown, Allison Chasteen, Katie England, Dylan Kuberski

Ø  South Elgin: Hailey Winger

Ø  St. Charles East High School: Addison Strachan

Ø  St. Charles North High School: Jamie Fisher, Isabel Frederick

Ø  West Aurora High School: Yarelli Hernandez, Gillian Jones, Hayley Karn, Victoria Layman, Jennifer Litt, Miracle Maddox, Miel Nelson, Cristina Valdes

Ø  Wilco Area Career Center: Ryne Thacker, Lauren Turk

View the full list of winners, their schools, and their award categories online at http://fcclainc.org/programs/documents/2016IllinoisReport.pdf.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts