October , 2018

Email This Post Email This Post

NAACP National Board of Directors Elects New Members

Posted by Admin On February - 26 - 2016

NAACP National Board of Directors Elects New Members,
Passes Resolution on Flint Water Crisis at Annual Meeting in New York
New Members Named to Special Contribution Fund, Board Approves Name Change to NAACP Foundation


BALTIMORE, MD – NAACP National Board of Directors Chairman Roslyn M. Brock today announced the selection of several new board members and the reelection of existing board members during the Association’s recent annual meeting in New York City.  Chairman Brock and Vice Chairman Leon W. Russell were both reelected to their 7th term.

“The National Board of Directors establishes policy and helps guide the Association and its more than 2,200 units,” said Chairman Brock. “I am pleased to welcome new members to the Board and look forward to continue the work of the Association as we continue to confront and overcome the challenges to our civil and social justice movement.”

Elected to the Board, by the Board:
Tom Kalahar, TX   Dr. David Goatley, DC
William Lucy, DC   Rabbi Micah D. Greenstein, TN

At-Large Nominees Elected:
Carolyn Coleman, NC  Hazel Dukes, NY
Kathy Egland, MS  Howard Jefferson, TX
Jesse Turner, TN  James Settles, MI
Richard Womack, DC

Regional Adult Nominees Members Elected:
Region I Alphonso Braggs, HI
Region II   Scott Esdaile, CT
Region III Lillie Wilson, WI
Region IV Anita Russell, MO
Region V James Gallman, SC
Region VI Ernest Johnson, LA
Region VII Wandra-Ashley Williams, MD

Regional Youth Nominees Elected:
Region I Alyssa Smith, CA
Region II Joshua Turnquest, NY
Region III Antashe Howard, MI
Region IV John Gaskin, MO
Region V Brendien Mitchell, FL
Region VI Erin Gaddis, TX
Region VII Da’Quan Love, VA

Also announced during the Annual Meeting were new members to the Special Contribution Fund (SCF) Board of Trustees.  SCF supports the mission of the NAACP by raising funds, promoting philanthropy and advising the NAACP Board regarding the programs of the SCF.  The Special Contribution Fund was established with Board approval as a 501(c)3 entity in April 1964. At the National Board meeting on February 20, 2016, the Board of Directors approved the name change of the SCF to the NAACP Foundation.

New members to the SCF include:
Maya Bermingham, DC  Dana Mendenhall, IL
Shazzia Hall, NY   Michael Twyman, IN

The NAACP National Board of Directors also passed a resolution in support of efforts to assist residents of Flint, Michigan and to formally request local, state and federal officials enact a coordinated, cohesive plan that: addresses the long term health issues resulting from lead contamination; provides affected residents with necessary resources for legal relief; includes long term strategies to ensure there is no recurrence; and, requires aggressive infrastructure investment in, testing of, and the overhauling of lead pipe systems.


You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts