Historic Capital Press Club Elects New President, Board of Directors

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Internationally renowned civil rights leader Barbara Arnwine, fiery host of Radio One’s “Igniting Change with Barbara Arnwine” and Founder and President of the Transformative Justice Coalition, civil rights organization founded in 2016, has been elected president of the historic Capital Press Club.

Arnwine is best known for her long-time award winning 26-year presidency of the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, from 1989-2015. She is also the creator of the legendary 2011 Voting Rights “Map of Shame” and holds over 100 prestigious awards to date.

“Barbara Arnwine will be a dynamic representative of Black journalists and communications professionals,” says immediate past president Hazel Trice Edney. “Her prolific leadership skills and justice advocacy are internationally respected. Barbara and her new team will surely take the CPC to a new level of visibility and power.”

“I am deeply honored to be entrusted with this new role of leading this august organization and to continue the great tradition established by Hazel Trice Edney and my predecessors over these many decades of outstanding work”, said Ms. Arnwine. “The presence and voice of the Capital Press Club is urgently needed in this era to ensure that the media is faithful in fully and accurately expressing and reflecting the multifaceted perspectives, realities and aspirations of the African American community nationally and those of African Descendants throughout the Diaspora!”

Other newly elected CPC Board Members include:

First Vice President Pharoh Martin, communications director for DC Office of Motion Picture and Television Development.

Second Vice President A. Peter Bailey, veteran journalist, lecturer and author; Bailey was a founding member of The Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), organized in 1964 by Brother Malcolm X.

Secretary Robyn Wilkes, public affairs specialist for DC Department of Housing and Community Development and former CPC first vice president.

Digital Media Chairman Derrick Kenny, digital media manager, Montgomery Office of Cable & Broadband Services.

Each of the new board members is looking forward to working together to fulfill the mission of increasing minority media presences and story accuracy, which plays a vital part in policy debates regarding civil rights.

About CPC:
The Capital Press Club, which celebrated its 70th anniversary last year, was established in 1944 after the National Press Club refused to accept African American members. It continues to unite communications professionals of color through professional development, networking, issues advocacy and public forums. Its diverse membership includes communications professionals from all disciplines including journalists, marketing, public relations, advertising and social media. To join: CapitalPressClub.org.

Photo Captions: Barbara Arnwine, President, Capital Press Club

Capital Press Club Executive Committee: President Barbara Arnwine; Secretary Robyn Wilkes; First Vice President Pharoh Martin; Second Vice President A. Peter Bailey; and Digital Media Chair Derrick Kenny