September , 2018

Email This Post Email This Post

Hollywood, CA (BlackNews.com) — For 23 years, the NAACP Beverly Hills/Hollywood branch has produced a star-studded gala honoring thespians for their astonishing achievement in entertainment and theatre. This year, the branch will be joined by its partners Wells Fargo, The City of Los Angeles (Councilman Bernard Parks) and Rent-­A-­Center at the Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills on Monday, November 17, 2014 to honor Emmy Award winner and NAACP Image Award nominee Glynn Turman, Grammy Award winner Toni Braxton and theatre sensation Roger Guenveur Smith.

Lifetime Achievement Award honoree Glynn Turman started his acting career in New York theatre, working along legends such as Sidney Poitier and Ruby Dee, but after his move to Los Angeles, he quickly became a staple of film and television landing notable roles on such series as “Peyton Place”, “A Different World” and “The Wire”.

Six-time Grammy Award winning singer/songwriter, Toni Braxton will be honored with the Spirit Award. After decades of dazzling fans with her vocals Braxton returned to Broadway to showcase her theatre acting skills with ten-time Grammy Award winning singer/songwriter, producer and life time friend Kenny “BabyFace” Edmonds (who will present Braxton with her award during the show) in a phenomenal performance of “After Midnight”.

Trailblazer Award honoree Roger Guenveur Smith transformed his Obie Award-wining solo performance of “A Huey P. Newton Story” into a Peabody Award-­winning telefilm. The Los Angeles Times and LA Weekly announced Smiths recent play “Rodney King” as among the season’s best. He is an actor, writer, director and now trailblazer whose work lights up the international stage and screen.

Regional President of Community Bank, John Sotoodeh will receive the President’s Award and Senior Vice President of Wells Fargo, Byron Reed will be honored with the Community Service Award for their continued work and support in the community and for their efforts to help keep the arts alive in Los Angeles.

Actress Kym Whitley, star of Oprahs OWN network “Raising Whitley”, will host this year’s show. The night will include a tribute to Jackie Wilson, “The Eve of Jackie” by Chester Gregory, who took home a Jeff Award while gaining much critical praise for his role in the tribute. There will also be a special performance of “Lady Patriot” produced by award winning theatre director, Ted Lange. Lange has been honored countless times for his work in the arts including Artistic Director Achievement Award, Dramalogue Award, Oakland Ensemble Theatre’s Paul Robeson Award and Renaissance Man Theatre Award.

Other accomplished actors set to present during the award show include: Tichina Arnold (Survivor’s Remorse, Everybody Hates Chris), Sharon Leal (Addicted), Lamorne Morris (New Girl), Teyonah Parris and Tessa Thompson (Dear White People), Shanola Hampton (Shameless), Elise Neal (Belles), Kellita Smith (The Bernie Mac Show), Darrin Henson (Chocolate City), Angell Conwell (Young & Restless), Donis Leonard Jr. (House of Lies), Obba Babatundé (Half & Half, Dreamgirls “Original Broadway Cast”, Miss Evers’ Boys), Jamie Hector (Max Payne), Omar Gooding (Hangin with Mr. Cooper), Cocoa Brown (Tyler Perry’s The Single Moms Club), Jay Ellis (The Game), Nadine Ellis and Erica Hubbard (Lets Stay Together), Stephen Bishop and Lisa Vidal (Being Mary Jane), Keith David (Platoon), Chrystee Pharris (Passions), Tommy Davidson (Black Dynamite), Christian Keyes (Diary of a Mad Black Women), and R&B singer-songwriter Macy Gray. These entertainers and many others will unite for one evening to honor those who have made a major impact in theatre.

Tickets now available at Ticketmaster www.ticketmaster.com

For more information about the NAACP Theatre Awards, please visit: www.naacptheatreawards.com.
About The NAACP Theatre Awards:
The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show. The prestigious gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts