Four Chicago-Based Writers – Scott T. Barsotti, Mia McCullough, Bonnie Metzgar and Carlos Murillo – Named 2014/2015 Playwrights Unit Members of Goodman Theatre

CHICAGO, IL – A new crop of local talent joins Goodman Theatre’s artistic team for the 2014/2015 Season. The four Chicago-based writers named to the fifth season of the Playwrights Unit—a year-long residency program designed to support and develop new works—include Scott T. Barsotti, a member of WildClaw Theatre and a Resident Playwright at Chicago Dramatists; Mia McCullough, an adjunct faculty member at Northwestern University and a Resident Playwright at Chicago Dramatists, whose play Household Spirits appeared in the Goodman’s 2008 New Stages; Bonnie Metzgar, former Artistic Director of About Face Theatre; and Carlos Murillo, the head of the Playwriting Program at The Theatre School of DePaul University, whose plays have been widely produced throughout the United States and Europe.

“Sixteen brand new American plays have emerged over the past five years from the Playwrights Unit, a unique incubator and ideas forum consisting of a handful of Chicago’s most talented writers,” said Tanya Palmer, director of new play development. “The Unit members’ feedback and encouragement of one another is invaluable to the shaping and success of these new works. We are proud to facilitate this artistic development initiative, and look forward to sharing the talents of this remarkable group with our audiences at the final staged readings in the summer of 2015.”

A partnership with Chicago Dramatists, the Playwrights Unit meets twice per month with members of the Goodman’s artistic team to discuss their plays-in-progress and provide feedback for one another. The program includes readings of the playwrights’ works-in-progress at Chicago Dramatists in early 2015, and culminates in summer 2015 with staged readings of their completed works at the Goodman. Playwrights Unit alumni include Anne García Romero, Andrew Hinderaker, Mickle Maher and Laura Schellhardt (2013/2014 Season); Greg Allen, Alice Austen, Ike Holter and Christopher Oscar Peña (2012/2013 Season); Philip Dawkins, Nambi E. Kelley, Elaine Romero and Martín Zimmerman (2011/2012 Season); and Seth Bockley, Lisa Dillman, Laura Jacqmin and Rohina Malik (2010/2011 Season).

The Goodman is grateful to its New Work Sponsors, including The Davee Foundation, Major Supporter of the Expansion of New Stages; Time Warner Foundation, Lead Supporter of New Play Development; The Elizabeth F. Cheney Foundation and the Pritzker-Pucker Foundation, Major Supporters of New Play Development;  Laurents/Hatcher Foundation, Major Supporter of New Stages; the Goodman Scenemakers Board, Sponsor Partner for New Stages; The Glasser and Rosenthal Family and the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, Supporters of New Work Development; The Joyce Foundation, Principal Support of Artistic Development and Diversity Initiatives; Kirkland & Ellis LLP, Festival Sponsor.