March , 2019

Email This Post Email This Post
WASHINGTON, D.C. – Black Women for Positive Change, a national civic network (BW4PC), is holding a press conference on Monday, June 16, 2014, 10 am, to announce the “National Week of Non-Violence,” August 16-23, 2014. The National Week of Non-Violence is a citizen response to the on-going tragedies of school shootings, street violence, domestic violence and random acts by domestic terrorists.

Speakers are: Mayor William Euille, Alexandria, Virginia; Dr. Stephanie E. Myers, National Co-Chair, BW4PC; Rabbi Batya Steinlauf, Director of Social Justice and Interfaith Initiatives, Jewish Community and Relations Council; Presiding Elder Ronald Braxton, African Methodist Episcopal Church, (t) and Rev. Dr. Barbara Reynolds, Noted Journalist and Chaplain, BW4PC. The Metropolitan Police Department (MPD) will be present.

WHO: Black Women for Positive Change
WHERE: Kennedy Recreation Center 1401 7th Street, N.W. DC 20001
WHEN: Monday, June 16th
TIME: 10:00am
BW4PC is a national civic network of women and men of diverse races, faiths, nationalities and cultures. One of the missions of BW4PC is to “Change the Culture of Violence in America.” For example, on August 22, 2013, BW4PC sponsored the first ‘National Day of Non-Violence’ endorsed with proclamations by thirty-eight (38) elected officials (see attached list). Virginia State Delegate Daun S. Hester and DC Businesswoman Dr. Stephanie E. Myers, are National Co-Chairs.

For more information about BW4PC go to www.blackwomenforpositivechange.org. Representatives are available for Talk Shows and interviews.

Congressman Steny H. Hoyer, U.S. House of Representatives, Maryland
Governor Martin J. O’Malley, Maryland
Governor Deval L. Patrick, Massachusetts
Mayor William A. Bell, Sr., City of Birmingham, Alabama
Councilman Curren Price, Los Angeles, California
Mayor Michael B. Hancock, Denver, Colorado
Mayor Dennis P. Williams, Wilmington, Delaware
Mayor Vincent C. Gray, District of Columbia
Councilman Marion Barry, City Council of the District of Columbia
Mayor Pedro E. Segarra, Hartford, Connecticut
Mayor Teresa Pike Tomlinson, Columbus, Georgia
Mayor Mitchell J. Landrieu, New Orleans Louisiana
Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler, State of Maryland
City Council President Bernard Young, City Council, Baltimore, Maryland
Commissioner Reuben B. Collins, II, County Commission, Charles County, Maryland
County Executive Isiah Leggett, Montgomery County, Maryland
County Executive Rushern L. Baker, Prince Georges County, Maryland
Council Chair Andrea C. Harrison,
Councilwoman Ingrid M. Turner, Esq., Prince Georges County, Maryland
Senator Douglass J.J. Peters, Delegate James W. Hubbard, Delegate Marvin E. Holmes
and Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith, The Maryland House of Delegates
Councilor Charles C. Yancey, City Council, Boston, Massachusetts
Councilor Tito Jackson, City Council, Boston, Massachusetts
Mayor Francis G. Slay, City of St. Louis, Missouri
Mayor Rita Saunders, Bellevue, Nebraska
Mayor Chris Beutler, Lincoln, Nebraska
Mayor Michael A. Nutter, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Mayor Luke Ravenstahl, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Councilwoman Natalia Rudiak, City Council, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
County Executive Rich Fitzgerald, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania
Mayor John A. Thompson, Borough of Wilkinsburg, Pennsylvania
Mayor Marcus E. Knight, Lancaster, Texas
Mayor Annise Danette Parker, Houston, Texas
Mayor William D. Euille, Alexandria, Virginia (Issued for 2014)
Mayor Will Sessoms, Virginia Beach, Virginia
Mayor Paul David Fraim, Norfolk, Virginia

Mayor Kenneth I. Wright, Portsmouth, Virginia

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts