March , 2019

Email This Post Email This Post

CHICAGO, IL – Cinema/Chicago and the Chicago International Film Festival announced the winners for the 50th Chicago International Film Festival Television Awards.

The awards were presented before an audience of more than 300 industry guests at the Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel on April 10, 2014. Chicago veteran journalist Mary Ann Childers and CBS News Correspondent Jay Levine hosted the special evening honoring those in the television industry and presented three special awards throughout the night. Carol Mendelsohn, showrunner and Executive Producer of the “CSI” series, received a Commitment to Excellence Award for TV Productions; Commercial Production Company STORY was honored with a Commitment to Excellence Award for TV Commercials; and actor Jesse Spencer, currently starring in “Chicago Fire,” received an Artistic Achievement Award for Acting.

In the competition portion of the awards ceremony, Silver Hugo awards went to Cutters, Leo Burnett, mcgarrybowen and Beast Editorial for commercials, and Associated Producers (Canada), CNN, Contact Films (Australia) and Star Media (Russia) for productions. For the 50th year, WTTW presented a program of commercials competing for the Audience Choice Award, where audiences were encouraged to vote online for their favorite commercial. This year’s voting yielded a tie, with Audience Choice Awards going to “Italian Invasion” from Beast Editorial, and “Mantra” from Cutters.

The full winners list can be found at: http://www.cinemachicago.org/tv_competition/2014_award_winners.php

The 50th Chicago International Film Festival Television Awards is presented by Cinema/Chicago and the Chicago International Film Festival. Major Partners include American Airlines, Optimus, Sound Investment AV with support from Evening Partners Action Booth, Effen Vodka, Stella Artois and WTTW11.


The Chicago International Film Festival Television Awards is an annual international television competition culminating in an Awards Ceremony that honors the best TV commercials and television productions from around the world. Past honorees include Kelsey Grammer, Bill Kurtis, Carol Marin, FRONTLINE, Leo Burnett, ESPN Films, and Optimus, among others.


Cinema/Chicago is a not-for-profit cultural and education organization dedicated to encouraging better understanding between cultures and to making a positive contribution to the art form of the moving image. The Television Awards is part of the year-round programs presented by Cinema/Chicago, which also include the Chicago International Film Festival, CineYouth Festival, Intercom Competition, International Screenings Program, and Educational Outreach.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts