Illinois State High School Archery Tournament Set for March 22

Top finishers Among 873 Young Archers Will Advance to National Tournament

SPRINGFIELD, IL – The Illinois Department of Natural Resources will host the National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP) Illinois State Tournament Saturday, March 22 at the Orr Building on the Illinois State Fairgrounds in Springfield. Participation continues to grow as 873 archers from 32 schools have qualified to compete. The 2013 State Tournament drew about 700 archers. 400 students competed in 2012. Top finishers qualify for the NASP National Tournament to be held May 9-10 in Louisville, Kentucky.

“We are proud of the student-athletes who are coming to Springfield to represent their schools in the State Tournament,” said IDNR Director Marc Miller. “Outdoor sports are a growing part of extra-curricular programs at many schools in Illinois, and we look forward to seeing these accomplished young men and women compete.”

Students will compete in three divisions, including Elementary (Grades 4-5), Middle School (Grades 6-8) and High School (Grades 9-12). Members of the Illinois Archery Association provide volunteer support for the event. Last year’s state champions were Schlarman Academy High School of Danville (Grades 9-12), Georgetown-Ridge Farm Junior High School (Grades 6-8), and Jefferson Elementary School in Charleston (Grades 4-5).

NASP is a nationally acclaimed youth archery program that implements a curriculum-based archery education program into the public/private school system through the physical education department. The program started in Kentucky in 2002 and has expanded to include 12,000 participating schools and one million students in five countries. Illinois was one of the first 10 states registered in the program.

Qualifying schools include:

Adlai E. Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire

Armstrong Potomac Grade School

Armstrong Potomac High School

Athens High School

Canton High School

Canton Ingersoll Middle School

Centennial High School, Champaign

Central High School, Champaign

Chicago Military Academy

Cuba High School

Evansville Attendance Center

Ewing Grade School

Foreman High School, Chicago

Georgetown-Ridge Farm High School

Georgetown-Ridge Farm Middle School

Highland Middle School

Jefferson Middle School, Champaign

Lane Tech College Prep, Chicago


Mark Bills Middle School, Peoria

Metamora St. Mary’s

Metamora Township High School

Next Generation School, Champaign

Oswego High School

Phoenix Military Academy, Chicago

Pinckneyville High School

Pinckneyville Junior High School

Riverton High School

Roberto Clemente High School, Chicago

Schlarman Academy, Danville

Tremont High School

Washington Middle School, Springfield