February , 2019

Email This Post Email This Post

Films from Taiwan, The Netherlands and Finland take home the First Q Hugo Film Awards

CHICAGO, IL – The 49th Chicago International Film Festival has announced  the winners of its inaugural Q Hugo Film Awards. Eleven films from Belgium, Chile, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Sweden, Taiwan and the United States were shown as part of OUT-Look, the Festival’s recently rebranded LGBTQ program. All eleven films participated in the competition.

The awards were presented on Monday October 21 during a ceremony held at the Hoover-Leppen Theatre at The Center on Halsted (3656 N. Halsted). The Ceremony also featured live performances by World Music singer/songwriter Sandra Antongiorgi, the legendary Joel Hall Dancers and the reigning Miss Continental 2013 Naysha Lopez.

The Festival also payed a special tribute to Chinese cult filmmaker Scud for his fearless, bold and unique cinematic work. He was joined at the tribute by the cast members of his latest film, Voyage, which received its world premiere at the Festival: Leni Speidel, Haze Leung, Byron Pang, and Vietnamese supermodel Chan Than San.

For a downloadable press release and photos, click here.


The Gold Q Hugo Film Award goes to Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow? (Taiwan) for its welcome comic tone and generosity of spirit, capturing the joys and struggles of a gay protagonist while extending complexity and perspective to all its characters. Director: Arvin Chen

The Silver Q Hugo Film Award goes to It’s All So Quiet (Netherlands/Germany) for telling a specifically gay and yet broadly relatable story of desire, frustration, and independence, and for letting this tale unfold in a particular, beautifully evoked time and place. Director: Nanouk Leopold

A Special Jury Prize goes to American Vagabond (Finland/Denmark/USA) for exploring the lives of homeless gay teens who often go unacknowledged, exposing negative aspects of LGBT life but also showing how compassion can arise where we least expect it. Director: Susanna Helke

The Q Hugo Film Award jury consisted of: Hank Sartin (USA), managing editor for RogerEbert.com; film critic and academic Nick Davis (USA); and film critic and programming director for Reeling: The Chicago LGBT International Film Festival, Richard Knight (USA).

Effen Vodka, program partner for OUT-Look, is the Lead Partner for the Q Hugo Film Awards; Center on Halsted, Lavazza Espression, Sidetrack, Stella Artois, Tres Generaciones® and the Windy City Media Group are the Evening Partners.

Led by Presenting Partner Columbia College Chicago, the 49th Chicago International Film Festival’s sponsors include: Official Airline – American Airlines; Headquarters Hotel – JW Marriott Chicago; Official Vehicle – Mercedes-Benz; Producing Partners: AMC Theaters, The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; Major Partners: Illinois Office of Tourism and Intersites; Supporting Partners: DePaul University School of Cinema and Interactive Media, Stella Artois, Effen Vodka, WBBM Newsradio 780 and 105.9FM, Cultivate Studios; Participating Partners: State Farm, AARP, Tres Generaciones®, Comcast, Allstate, Spotlight Cinema Networks, Casale del Giglio, Second City Computers, Shutterbox Entertainment, Gibson’s Restaurant Group, RL Restaurant, Creative Technology and Lavazza Espression.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts