June , 2018

Email This Post Email This Post
matthewwatley(Washington, DC) Named one of the “Top 20 Preachers under 40 to Watch,” Rev. Matthew L. Watley, executive minister at Reid Temple AME Church-North Campus in Silver Spring, MD, will deliver the keynote address at Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation.
This annual Women’s History Month event is sponsored by the Conference Of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO), a Washington-based national trade association for transportation professionals. Rev. Watley’s influence reaches beyond the metro Washington, DC area. The Ford Foundation asked him to participate on a special commission charged with evaluating Non-Governmental Organizations in the Republic of South Africa. He has authored several books and is the creator of the Power Lunch, a non-denominational noon-time worship service held locally and which has been replicated in other cities.
The Honorable Norman Y. Mineta, former U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) Secretary, is the honorary chairman for the breakfast recognition event that salutes ten women representing the full-range of transportation disciplines. Tickets for this event, scheduled for March 13 at the J.W. Marriott in Washington, DC, can be purchased through the COMTO website.
Receiving COMTO’s Lifetime Achievement Award during the Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation event is freshman U.S. Representative Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), an Iraq war veteran. Rep. Duckworth distinguishes herself as a U.S. Army Black Hawk helicopter pilot. She suffered severe combat wounds, losing both her legs and damaging her right arm. Duckworth was the first female double amputee from the war and was awarded the Purple Heart for her combat injuries. She previously served as assistant secretary for Public and Intergovernmental Affairs in the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and as the director of the Illinois Department of Veterans Affairs.
Additional honorees and the transportation modes they represent include: Gina Adams, corporate vice president – Government Affairs at FedEx for the Private Sector; Rosemarie Andolino, commissioner at the Chicago Department of Aviation for the Aviation Sector; Anne Canby, director of the OneRail Coalition for the Advocacy Sector; Gloria Jeff, former director for the Michigan Department of Transportation and former associate director of the Transportation Operations Administration at the Washington, DC Department of Transportation for the Highway Sector; Joan McDonald, commissioner for the State of New York Department of Transportation for the State Government Sector; Cheryl McKissack Daniel, president & CEO at McKissack and McKissack and Deryl McKissack, president, CEO, and board chairwoman at McKissack & McKissack of DC, co-honorees for the Private Sector; and Therese McMillan, deputy administrator at the Federal Transit Administration at the U.S. Department of Transportation for the Federal Government Sector. Helen Dale, special assistant and strategic coordinator to the Director of Human Resources at the Maryland Transportation Authority, will receive the Shirley DeLibero Award, named for the first female board chair for COMTO.
“We are thrilled to have Secretary Mineta lead us in recognizing the accomplishments of these dynamic women who represent the best in our industry,” says COMTO President and CEO Julie Cunningham. “They are role models representing what can be accomplished globally in transportation.”
Founded in 1971 on the campus of Howard University in Washington, DC, the Conference Of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) was created to provide a forum for senior-level minority professionals in the transportation industry. The organization encompasses individuals, organizations, transportation agencies, non-profits and Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUBs). From highways and roads to mass transit systems; from subways to rail systems; and from port authorities to airports, COMTO members represent every facet of the transportation industry. They are the presidents and chief executive officers who determine the direction of major transportation systems and the mechanics and operators who ensure the safe passage of millions of transportation riders every day.
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts