17
August , 2018
Friday

Email This Post Email This Post

A national teleconference call, hosted by New America Media and the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU School of Law, will be held Tuesday, August 21st, 11:00 A.M. PST, and 12:00 Noon MT. 1P.M. CT, 2 P.M. EST.

Students across the country will face unique challenges when they register to vote and cast ballots this November. With new restrictive voting laws in many states, including Voter ID requirements that may not accept student IDs, many students may find themselves confused about where they can cast a ballot. Young voters, known as the Millenial Generation, make up nearly one quarter of the entire electorate in 2012, which evokes both the challenge and the opportunity.

Participants:

  •  Heather Smith, President, Rock the Vote; The Importance of Involving the Millennial Generation in Voting
  • Lee Rowland, Counsel, Democracy Program, Brennan Center for Justice; The Impact of new Restrictive Voting Laws on Students and Young Voters

Where to go for more information:

http://www.brennancenter.org/election2012

http://www.brennancenter.org/studentvoting

http://www.rockthevote.org

Between April and November, NAM will partner with the Brennan Center and other national research and advocacy organizations to host monthly teleconference calls, produce weekly columns and alerts, and host roundtables in key states. The goal is to build a collective news and advocacy platform in the ethnic media sector to counter voter suppression efforts and ensure every eligible voter can vote.

RSVP for the conference to Zaineb Mohammed, zmohammed@newamericamedia.org or phone (415) 503-4170 ext. 108.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments

Welcome to CopyLine Magazine! The first issue of CopyLine Magazine was published in November, 1990, by Editor & Publisher Juanita Bratcher. CopyLine’s main focus is on the political arena – to inform our readers and analyze many of the pressing issues of the day - controversial or otherwise. Our objectives are clear – to keep you abreast of political happenings and maneuvering in the political arena, by reporting and providing provocative commentaries on various issues. For more about CopyLine Magazine, CopyLine Blog, and CopyLine Television/Video, please visit juanitabratcher.com, copylinemagazine.com, and oneononetelevision.com. Bratcher has been a News/Reporter, Author, Publisher, and Journalist for 33 years. She is the author of six books, including “Harold: The Making of a Big City Mayor” (Harold Washington), Chicago’s first African-American mayor; and “Beyond the Boardroom: Empowering a New Generation of Leaders,” about John Herman Stroger, Jr., the first African-American elected President of the Cook County Board. Bratcher is also a Poet/Songwriter, with 17 records – produced by HillTop Records of Hollywood, California. Juanita Bratcher Publisher

Recent Posts