Sec’y of State Jesse White announces “Eliminate the Digital Divide” Grants


 Springfield, IL —Secretary of State and State Librarian Jesse White has announced that forty-one public libraries and community college learning resource centers will share in a nearly $1 million grant awarded to the Illinois State Library to enhance broadband computer access to citizens across Illinois.

“The digital divide prevents many low-income citizens from having access to important technology and educational programs that can greatly enrich their lives,” White said.  “Having access to information allows citizens to engage in lifelong learning, and these grants will allow libraries and other providers to offer critical services that will hopefully allow more Illinoisans to lead better, more productive lives.”

 The “Eliminate the Digital Divide Program Grant” is being awarded by the Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity (DCEO) to provide equipment, training and services for broadband-delivered education, employment and reading services to the unemployed, children, seniors, minorities, persons with disabilities and others. 

“I thank Governor Pat Quinn and the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity for working closely with us to bridge the digital divide in our state,” said White.

            List of grant recipients:

  • City of Chicago SD #299, ACE Tech Center
  • Atkinson Public Library District
  • Blue Island Public Library
  • Bradley Public Library District
  • C.E. Brehm Memorial Public Library District, Mt. Vernon
  • Cahokia Public Library District
  • Carbondale Public Library
  • Carthage Public Library District
  • Centralia Regional Library District
  • Champaign Public Library
  • Cherry Valley Public Library District
  • Colchester District Library
  • Decatur Public Library
  • DeKalb Public Library
  • Des Plaines Valley Public Library District, Crest Hill Branch
  • Eldorado Memorial Public Library District
  • Freeport Public Library
  • Frontier Community College Learning Resource Center, Fairfield
  • Gail Borden Public Library District, Elgin
  • Glenwood-Lynwood Public Library District
  • Greater West Central Public Library District, Augusta, Golden, Littleton Branches
  • Harrisburg Public Library District
  • Hoopeston Public Library District
  • John Wood Community College, Quincy
  • Joliet Public Library
  • Kaskaskia College, Centralia
  • Kewanee Public Library District
  • Lincoln Trail College, Eagleton Learning Resource Center, Olney
  • Metropolis Public Library
  • Mississippi Valley Public Library District, Fairmont and Collinsville
  • Nancy L. McConathy Public Library District, Sauk Village
  • Newman Regional Library District
  • Peoria Public Library
  • Quincy Public Library
  • Rend Lake College Learning Resource Center, Ina
  • St. Elmo Public Library District
  • Sterling Public Library
  • Zion-Benton Public Library District