Kirk’s Key Appointments to Newly Formed Advisory Boards

 Chairs of advisory boards offer geographic balance among team of experts 

 Kirk: “These individuals–who come from across the Land of Lincoln–will provide expert advice on major issues facing the residents of Illinois.”
Chicago, IL – U.S. Sen. Mark Kirk (R-Ill.) announced the chairs of five newly formed advisory boards created to help address major issues facing residents of Illinois.
Kirk, a former five-term congressman who was sworn into the Senate on Nov. 29, said he selected advisory board chairs from across the state based on their experience and to provide geographic balance to his team of experts.
“These individuals—who come from across the Land of Lincoln—will provide expert advice on major issues facing the residents of Illinois,” Kirk said.
Kirk formed similar advisory boards while serving as congressman of the north suburban 10th Congressional District for the past decade.
“The best thoughts and ideas regarding federal policy come from those who deal with the decisions Washington makes every day,” Kirk said.  “These key leaders will help assemble boards that represent Illinois’ diverse needs and provide feedback on some of the most important issues we will tackle in the Senate.”
In addition to the eight appointments to the five advisory boards, Kirk said he will appoint experts to additional advisory boards as he prepares for the 112th Congress.
The advisors and the committees they will chair are:
Dr. Darlene Ruscitti, DuPage County regional superintendent of schools, and Schaumburg High School teacher Kathi Griffin, an Illinois Education Association board member and National Education Association director, will serve as co-chairs of the Education Advisory Board.
Health Care
Dr. Jay Alexander, a partner at North Shore Cardiologists in Lake County for nearly 30 years, and a fellow of the American College of Cardiology, American Heart Association and American Society of Nuclear Cardiology, will chair the Health Care Advisory Board.
Terry Ferguson of Clinton is a past president and current board member of the DeWitt County Farm Bureau.  A former DeWitt County Board member and Harp Township highway commissioner, Ferguson is well known for bringing attention to the needs of farmers in central Illinois.  He will chair the Agriculture Advisory Board.
Small Business
Zachary Hoffman of Springfield is co-owner of Wiley Office Furniture, a small business that has been in his family since the late 1960s when Hoffman’s grandfather, Ray, purchased the company.  The firm, which provides office planning, furniture products and related services, has worked extensively with local municipalities and state and federal agencies.  Hoffman will chair the Small Business Advisory Board.
Former U.S. Army Capt. Carrie Hoza of Winnetka, who was awarded a Bronze Star for Leadership and Service during an 11-month tour of duty in Iraq, will chair the Veterans Advisory Board.  Gurnee resident Allen Lynch, an Army veteran who won the Congressional Medal of Honor for service in the Vietnam War, and state Rep. Mike Bost (R-Murphysboro), a former Marine who is currently the GOP spokesman of the House Veterans Affairs Committee, will serve as honorary chairs.
Kirk won a special election to serve an unexpired Senate term on Nov. 2—the same day he won election to a full six-year term.  Kirk will be sworn into the full Senate term on Jan. 5.